Eyelash Extension Licensing Requirements of Each State

Do You Know That in The USA Eyelash Technicians Need a License to Provide Their Services?

Eyelash Extension Licensing Requirements of each state

Completing an eyelash training course and getting certified by your school does NOT provide you the eligibility to work as an eyelash technician. Offering any kind of eyelash extensions, cosmetic or esthetician services without holding a valid license is not allowed. 

This may seem surprising but given the sensitive nature of eyelashes, this is necessary. It ensures only licensed professionals who have completed the required training from licensed schools can provide eyelash extension services to individuals.

The problem here is that in the USA, there is not a unified licensing authority and all states have different laws and procedures when it comes to eyelashes and the practice of cosmetology as a whole. Each state has a Board of Cosmetology that formulates rules and regulations and also grants licenses to individuals who want to start working as eyelash technicians or related professions.

We have done an extensive research to help you understand the requirements for obtaining the license, for each state:

  • The minimum age for license eligibility
  • Number of training hours needed
  • Educational qualification required

We have also included the link of each State’s Board of Cosmetology. We have also listed our recommendation for the best eyelash training course in every state.

Before we take a look at that, let’s understand a few important things: 

What License Do I Need to Apply Eyelash Extensions?

The two common license types that allow you to apply eyelash extensions are:

  • Cosmetologist/Barber
  • Esthetician/Aesthetician

Few states like Texas, Minnesota and Kentucky have separate licenses for eyelash extensions. 

Most states also offer a license type called Apprentice License. This license type allows you to perform eyelash extensions on individuals ONLY under the supervision of a licensed Cosmetologist or Esthetician.

Do I Need to Sit for an Exam?

You ideally need to sit for a written and practical examination. Once you clear both the exams with the minimum required marks, you will be granted your license.

Does Obtaining a License From One State Allow Me to Practice in Another State?

You have to obtain a separate license for each state where you want to practice. However, if you hold a valid license in one state then you do not have to sit for the examination in another state. You can simply get your license certified or transferred. 

Already licensed to apply eyelash extensions? Here is all the products that you need to get started:

State-wise License Requirements.

Alabama

Alabama is one of the few states that do not have any licensing requirements for lash technicians. However, you should get the required training from a reputed school to ensure you can offer quality services to your clients.

Phone(334) 242-1918
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://aboc.alabama.gov/
Recommended Trainingunder evaluating

Alaska

If you hold a current license from some other state, you can get a Temporary License in Alaska. You will be issued a Permanent License once you clear the written examination.

Education RequirementsProof of proficiency test
School Training350 hours
Application & Fee$150 for the application
$60 for the written examination
$180 initial license fee after passing the exam
Phone907-465-6246
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.commerce.alaska.gov
Recommended TrainingStudios at Lux

Arizona

Education RequirementCompleted high school and 16 years old
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1450 hours
Esthetician – 500 hours
Application and Fee$177 examination fee
$70 first-year license fee
Phone480-784-4539
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://boc.az.gov/licensing
Recommended TrainingThe Lash and Sugar Company

Arkansas

License RequirementsCosmetologist, Aesthetician or Barber License
Education RequirementsA minimum of 2 years in High School
School Training480 hours
Application & Fee$50 lifetime license fee
$50 license renewal fee
$60 written examination fee
$65 practical fee
Phone501-682-5640
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.healthy.arkansas.gov
Recommended TrainingLittle Rock Day Spa

California

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsHas completed 10th grade in a public school or equivalent
School Training600 hours
Application & Fee$50 initial license fee
$50 renewal fee
Phone1-800-952-5210
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov
Recommended TrainingGlad Lash

Colorado 

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsHas completed 10th grade in a public school or equivalent
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1500 hours
Esthetician – 600 hours
Application & Fee$28 application fee
$127 examination fee
Phone303-894-7800
Emails[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://dpo.colorado.gov
Recommended TrainingThe Lash Professional

Connecticut

You need to obtain a Department of Public Health (DPH) license or a temporary permit (for individuals holding a valid license from another state). 

Education RequirementsNot specified
School Training600 hours
Application & Fee$100 application fee
$100 renewal fee (every 2 years)
Phone(860) 509-7603
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://portal.ct.gov
Recommended TrainingM Lash Beauty Studio

Delaware

License RequirementsCosmetology License
Education RequirementsHas completed 10th grade
School Training600 hours
Application and Fee$128 initial license fee
Renewal fee as stated at the time of application
Phone(302) 744-4500
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://dpr.delaware.gov
Recommended TrainingLasting Looks

District of Columbia

License RequirementsCosmetologist, Esthetician, Medical License
Education RequirementsNot specified
School TrainingNot specified
Application and Fee$65 for application 
$110 for the license (valid for 2 years)
$110 for the renewal fee (for 2 years)
Phone202-442-4428
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://dcra.dc.gov
Recommended TrainingLashBeePro

Florida

The State of Hawaii does not offer a separate Cosmetologist or Esthetician License. It includes the practice of any type of hairstyling under the Practice of Barbering, so you need to get a Barber License. 

License RequirementsCosmetologist, Facial Specialist or Full Specialist License
Education RequirementsInitial HIV/AIDS Course Completion
School TrainingCosmetologist -1200 hours
Facial Specialist – 260 hours
Full Specialist – 500 hours
Application and Fee$15.75 exam fees
$50 license fee
Phone850-487-1395
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttp://www.myfloridalicense.com
Recommended TrainingPearl Lash Extensions

Georgia

License RequirementsMaster Cosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsHigh school diploma
School TrainingCosmetologist -1500 hours
Esthetician – 1000 hours
Application and Fee$30 for license application
$50 for renewal
Phone404-656-2881
EmailE-mail Form
Licensing Websitehttps://sos.ga.gov
Recommended TrainingSchool of Glamology

Hawaii

The State of Hawaii does not offer a separate Cosmetologist or Esthetician License. It includes the practice of any type of hairstyling under the Practice of Barbering, so you need to get a Barber License

Education RequirementsHigh school graduate
School Training1500 hours 
Application and Fee$20 application fee
Phone(808) 586-2694
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://cca.hawaii.gov
Recommended TrainingKimono Lash

Idaho

You need a Cosmetology or Esthetician License. They also have an association that is lobbying for a separate Eyelash License. 

Education RequirementsCompleted 2 years of high school
Any other educational qualification approved by the state licensing board
School TrainingCosmetologists-1600 hours
Estheticians-600 hours
Application & Fee$25 license fee
$25 renewal fee
Phone208-334-3233
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://dopl.idaho.gov
Recommended TrainingAveda Institute

Illinois

License RequirementsCosmetologist, Esthetician
Education RequirementsHigh school graduate
School TrainingNot specified
Application & Fee$30 for the license
$30 renewal fee every year
Phone(888) 473-4858
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.idfpr.com
Recommended TrainingThrive Skin and Laser Institute

Indiana

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsGeneral Education Diploma (GED)
School TrainingNot specified 
Application & Fee$40 for the application fee
Phone(317) 234-3031
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.in.gov
Recommended TrainingStill Evaluating

Iowa

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician license
Education RequirementsHigh school diploma
Proof of Cosmetology training from a licensed school
School TrainingCosmetologist – 2100 hours
Estheticians –  600 hours 
Application & Fee$60 application fee
$60 renewal fee every 2 years
Phone515-281-0254
Email
Licensing Websitehttps://idph.iowa.gov
Recommended TrainingIowa Ibrow Ilash Academy

Kansas

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician license
Education RequirementsHigh school graduate
School Training1000 hours 
Application & Fee$60 application fee
$60 renewal fee every 2 years
Phone(785) 296-3155
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.accesskansas.org
Recommended TrainingStyle and Face Studios

Kentucky

License RequirementsCosmetologist, Esthetician License or Eyelash Artistry Technician Permit
Education Requirements12th Grade
School TrainingCosmetologists-1500 hours
Estheticians-750 hours
Application & Fee$50 permit fee
$50 restoration fee per year
Phone502-564-4262
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://kbc.ky.gov
Recommended TrainingSkyn Haven

Louisiana

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsCompleted 10th grade
School TrainingCosmetologist-1500 hours
Esthetician-750 hours
Application & Fee$25 application fee
Phone(225) 756-3404 ext 214
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttp://www.lsbc.louisiana.gov
Recommended TrainingLA · Lash Academy

Maine

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsCompleted 10th grade
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1500 hours
Esthetician – 600 hours
Application & FeeApplication fee $41
Phone(207) 624-8603
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.maine.gov
Recommended TrainingEyEnvy Lash Studio & Academy

Maryland

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education Requirements9th Grade or G.E.D.
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1500 hours
Esthetician – 600 hours
Application & Fee$25 application fee
$25 renewal fee
Phone410-230-6190
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.dllr.state.md.us
Recommended TrainingGirlkin Lashes

Massachusetts

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education Requirements9th Grade or G.E.D.
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1000 hours
Aestheticians – 600 hours
Application & Fee$136 application fee
Phone617-701-8792
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.mass.gov
Recommended TrainingBoston Lash Academy

Michigan

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education Requirements9th Grade or G.E.D.
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1500 hours
Esthetician – 500 hours
Application & Fee$63 for application fee and 2-year license fees
Phone517-241-0199
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.michigan.gov
Recommended TrainingLady Red Lash

Minnesota 

License RequirementsCosmetologist, Esthetician, or
Eyelash Technician Operator or Eyelash Technician Salon Manager License
Education RequirementsNot specified
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1550 hours
Esthetician – 600 hours
Eyelash Technician – 38 hours (eyelash training only)
Application & Fee$130 for the license and a separate examination fee
Phone651-201-2742
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://mn.gov/boards/cosmetology
Recommended TrainingMinnesota Brow Lash Studio and Academy

Mississippi

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsAt least passed 12th grade
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1500 hours
Esthetician – 600 hours
Application & Fee$50 for license application
Phone601-359-1820
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.msbc.ms.gov
Recommended TrainingThe Glam Station and Spa

Missouri

License RequirementsCosmetologist License
Education Requirements10th grade
School TrainingBarber/Cosmetologist – 1000 hours
Estheticians – 750 hours
Application & Fee$75 for the application fee.
Phone573-751-1052
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://pr.mo.gov/professions.asp
Recommended TrainingLash Room and Brow Bar

Montanna

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsHigh School graduate
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1500 hours
Estheticians – 650 hours
Application & Fee$80 for the application fee
Phone(406) 444-6880
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttp://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov
Recommended TrainingMontana Lash Training

Nebraska

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsHigh School graduate
School TrainingCosmetologists – 2100 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
Application and Fee$95 application fee
$118 renewal fee
Phone(402) 471-2117
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttp://dhhs.ne.gov
Recommended TrainingBella Mia

Nevada

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsCompleted 10th grade in school
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1600 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
Application & Fee$125 application fee
$325 Registration fee
$70 renewal fee every 2 years
PhoneLas Vegas Office: 702-508-0015
Reno Office: 775-688-1442
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.nvcosmo.com
Recommended TrainingLivBay Lash

New Hampshire

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsCompleted high school 
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1500 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
Application & Fee$100 license application fee
Phone(603) 271-1062
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.oplc.nh.gov
Recommended TrainingEyEnvy Lash Studio & Academy

New Jersey

License RequirementsCosmetologist-Hairstylist, Beautician or Barber License
Education RequirementsCompleted high school 
School Training1200 hours
Application & Fee$140 license application
$45 renewal fee
Phone(973) 504-6400
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov
Recommended TrainingHigh Class Lashes

New Mexico

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsTwo years of high school 
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1600 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
Application & Fee$10 application fee
$50 license fee
$50 annual renewal fee
Phone(505) 476-4622
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttp://www.rld.state.nm.us
Recommended TrainingThe House of Shelby

New York

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsNot specified 
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1000 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
Application & Fee$30 examination fee
$40 license fee
$40 renewal fee
Phone(518) 474-4429
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.dos.ny.gov
Recommended TrainingLash and Brow NY

North Carolina

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsHigh school graduate
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1500 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours 
Application & Fee$64 license fee
Phone919-736-6123
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.nccosmeticarts.com
Recommended TrainingNatural Esthetics

North Dakota

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education Requirements4 years of high school or equivalent
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1800 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours 
Application & Fee$80 license fee
Phone701-224-9800
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.ndcosmetology.com
Recommended TrainingStill evaluating

Ohio

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsCompleted cosmetology training from a licensed school
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1500 hours
Estheticians – 750 hours
Applicationat least 18 years old
Fee$39 examination fee
$45 license fee
Phone(614) 466-3834
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttp://cos.ohio.gov/
Recommended TrainingSalon Institute

Oklahoma

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsPassed 8th grade
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1500 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
Application & Fee$35 exam fee
$35 initial license fee
$25 renew fee
Phone(405) 521-2441
Email
Licensing Websitehttp://www.state.ok.us/cosmo/
Recommended TrainingClary Sage College

Oregon

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsCompleted cosmetology training from a licensed school
School TrainingCosmetologists – 2300 hours
Estheticians – 700 hours
ApplicationAt least 18 years old
Fee$20 application fee
$25 initial license fee
$45 renewal fee
Phone503-378-8667
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.oregon.gov/
Recommended TrainingPortland Beauty School

Pennsylvania

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsCompleted 10th grade
School TrainingCosmetologists – 1250 hours
Estheticians – 300 hours
ApplicationAt least 16 years old
Fee$10 application fee
$93 examination fee
Phone(717) 783-7130
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.pals.pa.gov
Recommended TrainingLash Bee

Rhode Island

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsHigh school graduate
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1200 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
ApplicationAt least 18 years old
Fee$25 application fee
Phone401-222-5960
Email
Licensing Websitehttps://health.ri.gov
Recommended TrainingCh’i Lash

South Carolina

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsCompleted 10th grade
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1200 hours
Estheticians – 450 hours
ApplicationAt least 16 years old
Fee$20 application fee
$80 examination fee
Phone(803) 896-4588
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://llr.sc.gov
Recommended TrainingVenice Luxury Lash Brand

South Dakota

A Cosmetologist or Esthetician License. Eyelash Extensions can also be performed by individuals after completing 16 hours of training from approved providers of South Dakota Licenses. For a list check here.

Education RequirementsHigh school graduate
School TrainingCosmetologist – 2100 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
ApplicationAt least 18 years old
Fee$25 application fee
Phone605-773-6193
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://dlr.sd.gov
Recommended TrainingAmazing Lash Studio

Tennessee

Education RequirementsCosmetologist or Aesthetician License
Education RequirementsHas a GED
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1500 hours
Aestheticians – 750 hours 
ApplicationAt least 16 years old
Fee$60 License fee
$60 renewal fee
Phone(615) 741-2515
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.tn.gov
Recommended TrainingThe Lash Chick

Texas

License RequirementsCosmetologist, Aesthetician or Eyelash Extension Speciality License
Education RequirementsHigh school diploma
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1200 hours
Estheticians – 750 hours
Eyelash Extension Speciality – 320 hours
ApplicationAt least 17 years old
Fee$50 application fee
$122 examination fee
Phone(512) 463-6599
Emailemail form
Licensing Websitehttps://www.tdlr.texas.gov
Recommended TrainingXtreme Lashes

Utah

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsN/A
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1600 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
ApplicationNot specified
Fee$60 application fee
Phone(801) 530-6633
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://dopl.utah.gov
Recommended TrainingBella Lash

Vermont

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsHigh school diploma or GED
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1000 hours
Estheticians – 500 hours
ApplicationNot specified
Fee$110 application fee
$130 renewal fee
Phone802-828-1134
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://sos.vermont.gov
Recommended TrainingPure Beauty

Virginia

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsHigh school diploma or GED
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1500 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
ApplicationNot specified
Fee$105 application fee
Phone(804) 367-8509 
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitewww.dpor.virginia.gov
Recommended TrainingEye Candy Lash Boutique

Washington

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsGraduated from a recognized Cosmetology school
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1600 hours
Estheticians – 750 hours
ApplicationAt least 17 years old
Fee$25 license fee ($5 extra for a printed copy)
Phone(360) 664-6626
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.dol.wa.gov
Recommended TrainingSwink School

West Virginia

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Aesthetician License
Education RequirementsGraduated from a recognized Cosmetology school
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1800 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
ApplicationNot specified
Fee$35 initial license fee
$35 annual renewal fee
Phone(304) 558-2924
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://www.wvbbc.com/
Recommended TrainingBella Lash

Wisconsin


License Requirements
Cosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsHigh school graduate
School TrainingCosmetologist – 1550 hours
Estheticians – 450 hours
Application18 years old
Fee$100
Phone(608) 266-2112
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://dsps.wi.gov
Recommended TrainingLash Dolls Milwaukee

Wyoming

License RequirementsCosmetologist or Esthetician License
Education RequirementsCompleted 10th grade
School TrainingCosmetologist – 2000 hours
Estheticians – 600 hours
ApplicationAt least 16 years old.
Fee$100 examination fee
$48 annual license fee
Phone(307) 777-3534
Email[email protected]
Licensing Websitehttps://cosmetology.wyo.gov/
Recommended TrainingPash Lashes

The links provided above and the information regarding state regulations are provided for your convenience, but are subject to change at any time. This list is not intended to be exhaustive, and additional resources not listed here may be available. Although we have attempted to provide the most accurate information, each state has the right and ability to change these lash technician licensing requirements at any time without notice. The following information is not intended to be used as legal advice.

Important COVID-19 Update: While most of the states require you to attend the classes in-person at a licensed institute, looking at the nature of the pandemic, many of these states have allowed students to take advantage of distance learning.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top